Cardinal Spellman High School holds virtual ceremonies to honor excellence

Fr. Peter Pilsner Card.Spellman
Fr. Peter Pilsner of Cardinal Spellman spoke at the award ceremony.
Courtesy of Cardinal Spellman

Despite the school shut down since March, Cardinal Spellman High School held both the National Honor Society induction and Block S Sports awards ceremonies virtually.

After brief congratulatory remarks by President and Principal Daniel O’Keefe and National Honor Society moderator Trudy Keane, 34 students were admitted to the Sequere Deum Chapter of the National Honor Society.

Cardinal Spellman inducted the following students from the class of 2020:

  • Bianca Binns
  • Bryce Colclough
  • Annalese Herriman
  • Isabella Miles
  • Charlene Ortiz
  • Alessandra Payne
  • Tatianna Portillo-Diaz
  • Sade Sutherland

Students from the class of 2021 were also honored:

  • Kamilah Abubakar
  • Ishara Baez
  • Skylar Bailey
  • Milany Bruno
  • Zoe Chambers-Daniel
  • Alexandra Clarin
  • Yamona Coley
  • James Demetrius
  • Joseph Giraldi
  • Darryna Guy Williams
  • Sade Henriquez
  • Alexis Henry
  • Ashley Herriman
  • Melissa Hewitt
  • Sophia Huang
  • Angela Ignarra
  • Dana Kien
  • Aolani Lopez
  • Ayannah McCabe
  • Emma McCarthy
  • Camila Mendoza
  • Grace Mutze
  • Shayna Nguyen
  • Reina Oates
  • Ryan Rolon
  • Elizabeth Stewart

Fr. Peter Pilsner, director of spiritual activities, closed the ceremony with a prayer.

The Block S Sports Awards began with an opening prayer from Fr. Luke Leighton, a Franciscan Friar of the Renewal serving as assistant chaplain at Cardinal Spellman. Fr. Luke lives with the Franciscan community in the south Bronx.

Chris Manhertz,a Spellman alumni and Carolina Panthers tight end, spoke to the students.Courtesy of Cardinal Spellman

The virtual ceremony recognized the Most Valuable Player and Leadership award in each sport. In addition, the winners of the Schiazza S, those with seven or more varsity letters over their four year Spellman athletic career included:

  • Sydney Anderson
  • Michael D’Aloia
  • Donyah Francis
  • Annalese Herriman
  • Emilia Hewitt
  • Isabella Miles
  • Jodi Juliana Powell
  • Chloe Tuck

The 2020 Scholar Athletes of the year were Ethan Butler and Baylee O’Donnell, while the 2020 Athletes of the Year were Ethan Ortiz, David Smalls, Sydney Anderson and Shanice Sinclair. Additionally, Chris Manhertz from the Spellman Class of 2010 and tight end for the Carolina Panthers congratulated all the athletes for their hard work throughout the year and for the challenges and obstacles they have overcome.

More from Around NYC