Friends of PB Park announce Picture the Beach! photo contest

‘People at the Beach’ is one of five categories for this year’s Picture the Beach! Photo Contest.
Photo courtesy of Friends of Pelham Bay Park

Back by popular demand, the Friends of Pelham Bay Park’s Picture the Park! Photo Contest has returned with a new theme.

As plans begin for the restoration of Orchard Beach’s landmark Pavilion bathhouse, FPBP and the City Island Nautical Museum want to celebrate the Bronx Riviera, one of Pelham Bay Park’s greatest treasures, through the art of photography.

The ‘Picture the Beach! Photo Contest’ is open to all photographers, 18 and older, but not to NYC Parks and Recreation employees.

The contest consists of five categories: ‘People at the Beach,’ ‘Seasons,’ ‘Wildlife,’ ‘Infused by Bronx History’ and ‘Scenic Vistas.’

Submissions will be accepted starting Monday, January 1.

All images must be emailed to friendsofpelhambaypark@gmail.com during the submission period for the category the photo reflects.

Participants are asked when submitting photographs to include a photo caption, subject of the image, where and when the photo was taken and the name of the photographer(s).

Photos previously entered into the 2015 Picture the Park! contest will not be considered.

The deadlines to submit photos for each category are as follows: People at the Beach from Monday, January 1 to Monday, January 8; Scenic Vistas from Sunday, January 21 to Saturday, January 27; Wildlife from Sunday, February 11 to February 17; Infused by Bronx History from Sunday, March 4 to Saturday, March 10 and Seasons from Sunday, March 25 to Saturday, March 31.

Voting takes place as follows: People at the Beach from Saturday, January 13 to Saturday, January 20; Scenic Vistas from Sunday, February 4 to Saturday, February 10; Wildlife from Sunday, February 25 to Saturday, March 3; Infused by Bronx History from Sunday, March 18 to Saturday, March 24 and Seasons from Sunday, April 8 to Saturday, April 14.

According to Marisol Halpern, FPBP president, a panel of judges will review all submissions without knowing who the photographers are and the five winning photos in each category will be posted on FPBP’s Facebook page.

The winners in each category, as determined by Facebook voters and the panel, will be mounted and displayed at FPBP’s Spring Fundraiser on Thursday, April 19 at Pelham Split Rock Golf Course.

A grand prize winner will be announced and honored at the fundraiser.

Finalists in all categories will be exhibited at City Island Nautical Museum, Huntington Free Library, Poe Park Visitor Center and potentially other venues.

Over one million people visit Orchard Beach annually to enjoy its sands, waters, lawns and courts.

“The people we’ve come across always have such fond memories of visiting Orchard Beach,” expressed Halpern. “This contest is an opportunity for everyone to become more engaged in their park in a very positive way.”

Orchard Beach is accessible year round for Bronxites’ exploration.

For additional information, contest rules, terms and conditions, visit www.pelhambaypark.org.

To stay up to date, visit FPBP’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/friendsofpelhambaypark/.

More from Around NYC

>