St. Patrick’s Parade Sunday, March 12th

Derek Woods is the grand marshal of the 19th Annual Throggs Neck St. Patrick’s Day Parade.
Photo courtesy of Derek Woods

One of Throggs Neck and the borough’s most anticipated events is scheduled for Sunday, March 12.

The 19th Annual Throggs Neck St. Patrick’s Day Parade steps off at noon from East Tremont and Lafayette avenues.

A sea of green marchers will make their way down the thoroughfare and past a reviewing stand at Harding Avenue.

Honored this year as grand marshal Derek Woods, acclaimed videographer and a founder of Riverdale Children’s Theater founder.

There are three honored religious, members of the Dominican Sisters of Sparkill: Sr. Joan Marie O’Leary, Sr. Peggy Gannon and Sr. Betty McLaughlin.

Woods said that he hopes for great weather the day of the parade enabling people to celebrate the special bonds that are evident in the community and its businesses on parade day.

“We hope that people from all over the Bronx and the tri-state area come and enjoy Throggs Neck for the day,” said Woods, adding “with traditional Irish fare and music all over, it is truly very special: not only an Irish-American day, but a great Bronx day.”

The grand marshal, who grew up on Bainbridge Avenue and hails from Riverdale today, said that he believes that the parade affords people from all over the borough a chance to visit the Throggs Neck community.

The videographer, who has spent his whole career filming the borough, including the parade for nearly its entire existence, added that visitors from elsewhere get to see a beautiful and vibrant community.

Marching along with Woods and the honored religious will be family members of 17 posthumously recognized honorary grand marshals.

Extended family and friends are coming away from far away places like Florida, according to interviews honorary grand marshals’ families, to march in the parade and remember everyday people who made up the fabric of the community.

The 17 are Margaret Albin, Patrick Boyle, Veronica Christensen, Mary Fitzsimons, Teresa Fitzsimons, Eleanor Kelly, Arleen Knapp, Mary McEnery, Jack Mullane, Jack O’Connor, Kathy O’Sullivan, John Quinn, Sal Randazzo, Dennis Raftery, Jr., Daniel Smith, John Steel and Barbara Wynne.

The committee, comprised of Throggs Neck Benevolent Association members and community leaders, select the honorees based on recommendations and their own interactions, said Karin O’Connor, committee member.

O’Connor said that the parade is a much looked-forward-to-event in the community, with many people telling parade organizers that it is the highlight of their year.

“We always strive to bring great parades to the streets of Throggs Neck,” said O’Connor, adding “There is a lot of fun and revelry that goes on and we are proud to be doing this for the 19th time.”

The parade committee member said that as of press time some 20 marching bands and 45 to 50 groups have confirmed that they will be taking part this year.

Reach Reporter Patrick Rocchio at (718) 260–4597. E-mail him at Follow him on Twitter @patrickfrocchio.

More from Around NYC