National Conference of Puerto Rican Women Awards Gala

(l-r) Mario Matos, Jr.; James Durrah; Carmen Flores; Michelle Centeno, National Conference of Puerto Rican Women New York Chapter president; Paloma Izquiredo-Hernandez; Elizabeth Figueroa and Edwin Melendez.
Photo by Silvio Pacifico

The National Conference of Puerto Rican Women paid homage to several distinguished leaders at its annual awards dinner gala on Friday, October 21 at Tosca Marquee.

This year’s honorees of distinction were Elizabeth Figueroa, New York Botanical Garden director of Community Relations; Carmen Flores, AFSCME, DC 37 Local 1549 recording secretary and LCCLA NY Chapter Grievance Reporting executive board member; Paloma Izquiredo-Hernandez, Urban Health Plan president; Kam Wong, Mario Matos, Jr. the Municipal Credit Union president and Edwin Melendez, Hunter College Urban Affairs and Planning professor and CUNY Hunter College Center for Puerto Rican Studies director.

The 2016 Academic Scholarship awardees included Dyanna Bohorques from Binghampton University, Deliah Buitrago from Bryn Mawr College and Christina Anne Proia from College of Mount St. Vincent.

More from Around NYC