Marano elected CB 10 chairman

Community Board 10 has a new chairman. John Marano, a member of the board since 2007 and chairman of the Muncipal Services Committee, was elected during the last general board meeting before summer break on Thursday, June 17.

Marano replaces Diane Lock, the current chairwoman who did not seek re-election because of term limits. Marano’s opponet was Joseph Russo, a 12-year veteran of Community Board 10 who said during his remarks before the vote that he has served on almost every committee at one time or another. After the votes were tabulated, Russo graciously accepted defeat and requested that his votes be cast in favor of Marano to give him a unannimous victory.

Marano said that he believes that he can be of greater service to the community in his new role. He has attended numerous community hearings including the Bronx hearing on proposed MTA service reductions, and has served the city as a police officer from 1988 to 1998, and with the NYC Fire Department from 1998 to his retirement in 2006.

“I feel very confident that I can fill Diane’s shoes and help the community,” Marano said. “I have lived in this community all of my life. Being that I have the time because I am retired from the fire department, I feel that I can be of service.”

Marano said that the he hopes the community board has a continious and open relationship with all elected officals.

Marano will serve for a one-year term, and can be re-elected up to four times. Previouly, elections to the executive board had been capped at two 2-year terms.

The entire executive baord of Community Board 10 is new. The first vice chairman is Martin Prince. The second vice chairman will be Diane Lock, the secretary is Peter Sullivan and the treasurer is Michael Prohaska.

Reach reporter Patrick Rocchio at (718) 742-3393.

More from Around NYC